McKeen Awards

Named after Philena McKeen, principal of Abbot Academy from 1859 to 1892, the McKeen Award was created in 1998 by the Brace Center for Gender Studies to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to shaping the new, coeducational Phillips Academy in the spirit of Ms. KcKeen.

About Philena McKeen


Schools would not exist without determined and energetic individuals who guide the course of education. Principal of Abbot Academy from 1859-1892, Philena McKeen devoted herself to the well being of her school and the young women who studied there during her fruitful career of 33 years.From getting better teaspoons for their tea service to revising the curriculum, from worrying about the adequacy of school buildings to paying attention to the eternal souls of her young charges, Miss McKeen found no questions tied to the daily life at Abbot Academy too large of too small.  It was said that “from her discontent rose the Academy itself”, for she was a “steady force pushing” for a better community for her students.

McKeen Award Recipients

We at the Brace Center are proud to honor those who have exemplified, inspired, and dedicated leadership in education.

Sharon Magnuson, Julie Powers & JoAnne Fallon, 2019

Dr. Margaret Jackson, 2017

Kathleen E. Dalton & Anthony Rotundo, 2015

Rebecca M. Sykes, 2013

Diane L. Moore, 2011

Carole Braverman, Ada Fan, Carolyn Kelly & Mary Fulton, 2008

Susan McIntosh Lloyd, 2006

Priscilla Bonney-Smith, 2005

Don & Britta McNemar, 2004

Jean St. Pierre, 2003

Ted & Nancy Sizer, 2002

Carroll & Elaine Bailey, 2001

Marion Finbury, 2000

Joseph B. Wennik, 1999